Camp Hill, PA –The Pennsylvania Parks and Forests Foundation (PPFF), the only non-profit whose mission is Pennsylvania’s state parks and forest, recognizes the outstanding service, programs, and exemplary work being done in state parks and forests with the announcement of its 2018 award winners.
This year’s winners will be honored at the 12th annual banquet on Wednesday May 9, 2018 at the Susquehanna Club, New Cumberland. Sponsorships for awards are available. For more information and to register for the awards banquet go to PPFF’s website at
“The awards banquet is one of my favorite times of year,” said Marci Mowery, President of the Pennsylvania Parks and Forests Foundation. “The commitment of the award winners to the stewardship of our public lands for generations to come inspires and engenders a continued commitment to these precious resources.”
Award Winners:
Cliff Jones Keystone Legacy Award:
This top honor is being awarded to Department of Conservation and Natural Resources Secretary Cindy Dunn to recognize her outstanding contribution to the protection and enhancement to the park and forest system in Pennsylvania.
President’s Award:
The Pennsylvania Wilds Conservation Landscape Program and the Pa Wilds Center are being awarded the President’s Award to recognize their outstanding work to protect open space, conservation, outdoor recreation, and volunteerism.
Joe Ibberson Government Award:
Kate M. Harper, State Representative of the 61st Legislative District, is being awarded the Joe Ibberson Government Award for her focus on preserving the environment and work to protect and enhance the state’s Growing Greener program, Keystone Recreation, and Parks and Conservation Fund, which supports open space, historic preservation and improvements to state parks and forests.
Park of the Year:
Cook Forest State Park is being recognized for its exemplary and innovative work in customer service, education, programming, recreation, stewardship of the natural, cultural, historic assets, and/or accommodation of special needs of visitors.
Forest of the Year:
Rothrock State Forest is being recognized for the innovative and exemplary work in both forest management and recreation being done.
Improvement Award:
Boulder Woods Country Club is being recognized for the creation and stewardship of two disc golf courses at Gifford Pinchot State Park.
Education Award:
Marilyn and Tom Fye are being recognized for their help with decades of education programming, camp ground hosting, volunteerism, and commitment to Parker Dam and Clear Creek State Parks and their visitors.
Volunteerism Award:
The Over-the Hill Gang at Oil Creek State Park, is being recognized for their decades of dedication to the maintenance and care of the 40 miles of trails in Oil Creek State Park.
Young Volunteer Award:
Sarah Reeping is being recognized for her significant commitment to volunteerism at the Laurel Hill State Park complex.

Share News

Recognizing Excellence in Pennsylvania Park and Forests Volunteerism, Leadership, and Management—2018 Winners Announced